What is your view on Homosexuality and following Christ?

Ok. Yeah…my view. Hm.

I can’t say I really have one.

I have only a story that others call perspective or belief. In your world it seems to be called, “view.”

My story is…

Just like I didn’t ask to be born in this life time or for Adam and Eve to eat the forbidden fruit, I’ve accepted that there are things that are out of my control. Even things that have happened in the past but somehow still effect my future.

Between you and I, I’m not moved when homosexuality is related to sin. I am not offended nor do I feel less than. If anything, your comments humbles me.

Like you, I engage with sin daily. Like you, I accept new mercies. Like you, I yell as loud as I can for the walls of someone else’s Jericho to come tumbling down. Like you, I try my best in this fallen world.

I really connect with Rehab and the women who anointed Jesus with expensive perfume.

I heard of your God’s power and I’ve seen His son draw a line in the sand that oddly united both the high priest and prostitute. For some reason he knocked on my door and said, “No one is here to throw stones. Stand up and let sin not divide you and them anymore. Go and share this love I have given to you.”

I spent years hiding my masters talents in the ground. That looked like three years of therapy trying to forgive my molesters. Not so that I can have peace with them but so that maybe, if I forgiven them, I might not be gay anymore and can finally have peace within myself. That also looked like countless prayer meetings where God moved in the room but His glory didn’t quite satisfy me because I would put my own needs before others.

Is tonight the night? Will I be set free tonight?

I know it’s not wrong of me to ask that but sometimes it felt like it was. However, Jesus would always respond to me with the same words he spoke to Peter.

“Do you love me?” he would ask.

“Yes.” I would respond.

“Then feed my sheep.”

I hated his response. Every time I would focus on my inability, he turned my cheek towards those in need and said go.

Never once did Jesus scan the room for the best example of holy living and send that person out to tell others about him. I learned that sometimes the fact that there is nothing about you that makes you the right person to do something is exactly what God is looking for.

To be honest, I can’t really elaborate beyond this. I can only pray I remain honest, kind and humble. Even though I maybe adopted, I’ve finally accepted the fact that I am still His son and my inheritance is as equal as yours.

So this is my view. This is my story.

I don’t expect everyone to understand it nor do I expect everyone to respect it. What I do expect is for myself to always respond from love. Even if that means being told I’m a sinner by my brother in Christ or being put to death by an unexpected gunman at a gay nightclub.

Because the truth is that the gospel will survive me. I/we are no threat to it.

Leave a comment